A collection mostly comprising Roman tombs and carved stone from modern times is on display in the underground chambers of the Sforza half-bastion and casemates.
The exhibition includes the former city gate, the Fehérvár Gate, which was exploded on 28 March 1598 by the Hungarian army led by Mikós Pálffy and Adolf Schwarzenberg, when the town was recaptured from Turk occupation.
It has the 4th number and it is located at the west side of the square. It is one of Győr’s iconic buildings.
It is iconic not just because of the unique two storied,cylindrical shaped corner balcony but also because of its trade-sign. This stump – covered with iron and nails – is connected to one of Győr’s legends as you can read here.
Here everybody knew well the iron stump of Vienna near Stephansdom and called Stock im Eisent. Mátyás Zittrisch took advantage of this when he made the iron stump in 1829. After 4 years he put it by another building at the square and when he bought the house he brought to his building.
Nowdays it is called the Iron Stump House. It has been in existence since at least the 16th century. It used to have only one floor and it was owned by the magistrates of the town. One of them whose name was Orbán Gindl built the second floor of it.
Mátyás Zittritsch was a grocer and bought the building in 1833 and this is when he opened his store in it. There was nearly no one who could not find it if they looked for the iron stump in Győr.
According to the town legend, traveling young craftsmen hit the nails into this stump. This story is possibly true for the original iron stump in Vienna. As for the iron stump, it is more likely that Mr. Zittritsch made it with all the nails in it because all of the nails are the same type. This iron stump became an iconic symbol of Győr, just as the other one did for Vienna.
The entrance to the building is not from the square but it is from Lajos Stelzer Street. We can see a small built-in balcony above the main entrance. The collection of Imre Patkó moved here in 1980s after renovation. This collection is one of the Rómer Flóris Art and Historical Museum’s permanent exhibitions.
The late-Gothic heritage building is home to the life work exhibition of the late sculptor Miklós Borsos (1906–1990), a collection that gives an overview of the artist’s complete artistic creation and achievements.
CSIKÓCA ART WORKSHOP AND EXHIBITION HALL
As a truly unique feature in Hungary, the Children’s Workshop brings to life various artefacts, famous artists and artistic periods. The museum and workshop offer children between the ages of 3 and 12 a fun yet educational cultural experience.
Originally built in the 17th century and receiving its current Baroque look in 1767, this building was named after one of its famous guests, Napoleon. Today it is a temporary exhibition hall for displaying contemporary Hungarian and universal works of fine arts. The exhibition hall is open to visitors during temporary exhibitions.
Originally a spital, this 18th-century heritage building houses the private collection of the late art historian Dr. Péter Váczy (1904–1994). The collection comprises Renaissance and Baroque furniture and works of fine and applied arts.
Visitors can also find Greek, Roman and Hungarian archaeological remains from the Middle Ages, a Chinese tri-layer terra-cotta tomb-guarding warrior, Oriental rugs from the 19th century, glass, silver and bronze artefacts, Chinese ceramic ware, chandeliers and wall fittings. The building is also home to exhibitions consisting of artwork created by contemporary artists.
Situated in the former family home of the Fruhmann family, the museum showcases the history of the tile-stove building craft in the Győr region inside authentic interiors.
The tilestove workshop, built originally in the early-20th century, is awaiting visitors restored to its original state, while the renovated family home features an exhibition showcasing the local history of the art of tile-stove making in Győr. A stove collection, collected by Antal Fruhmann, is on display in a separate pavilion. Made complete by three separate exhibitions, the museum offers an exquisite showcase of the once-flourishing art of the tile-stove building craft in Hungary.
This 18th-century heritage building used to be a palace owned by the Esterházy family from Győr, with the façade still bearing the family crest featuring the original owner’s initials. The decorated building is the main location of the Flóris Rómer Art and Historical Museum, home of the permanent exhibition of the Dr. Béla Radnai private collection and various temporary displays.
The 17th-century heritage building was originally the house of spice tradesman János Kreszta, and is now home to the collection of Győr-born ceramic artist Margit Kovács (1902-1977), considered as the founder of modern ceramic art in Hungary. Along with the one located in Szentendre, the exhibition in Győr stands out as one of the only two places in the country where the artist’s folklore-influenced sculptures, statuettes and biblical compositions are on display.